Destination comparison

Japan eSIM plans compared

A current shortlist built from verified plan records and attributed provider links.

Approved providers8
Verified in catalog45
Latest verificationSep 7, 2026

Japan decision guide

Which Japan eSIM fits your trip?

Start with the trip, not a brand. For a short visit, choose enough fixed high-speed data for maps, messaging, tickets, and translation, then make sure the validity covers both arrival and departure. For a longer stay or regular laptop use, compare a larger fixed allowance with any unlimited option's published fair-use terms rather than assuming that every unlimited plan delivers unrestricted high-speed data.

The comparison below uses one current option from each of eight approved providers. It ranks plan fit from structured data; commission is not an input. The prices are values from official provider pages, an approved partner feed, or an official plan API. They are not independently captured checkout totals, and this page does not claim that we personally speed-tested these plans in Japan.

For a route through Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka, a nationwide Japan plan is usually the simplest comparison starting point. If your itinerary includes rural, mountain, or island travel, inspect the named local network for the exact plan and check the provider's current coverage information before paying. A provider that names several Japanese networks in one record is not promising that every device will use every network in every location.

Japan eSIM

One verified option from each provider

Showing 8 of 45 verified catalog plans, with one option per provider. Final checkout details remain with the provider.

Affiliate links may earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Ranking is based on trip fit and verified plan data, not commission.

SimOptionsJapan 5 GB - 7 days
1
Price$7.90 Data5 GB Validity7 days HotspotAllowed VerifiedSep 4, 2026
GigSkyJapan 10 GB - 30 days
2
Price$13.43 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotNot verified VerifiedSep 7, 2026
RoamlessJapan 10 GB - 30 days
3
Price$14.95 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotAllowed VerifiedSep 4, 2026
NomadJapan 10 GB - 30 days
4
Price$16.00 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotNot verified VerifiedSep 4, 2026
SailyJapan 10 GB - 30 days
5
Price$17.99 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotNot verified VerifiedSep 4, 2026
aloSIMJapan 10 GB - 30 days
6
Price$18.00 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotNot verified VerifiedSep 4, 2026
YesimJapan 10 GB - 30 days
7
Price$19.20 Data10 GB Validity30 days HotspotAllowed VerifiedSep 4, 2026
Maya Mobile7 Days Unlimited Global Data
8
Price$19.99 DataUnlimited Validity7 days HotspotAllowed VerifiedSep 7, 2026

Local network context

Read the network row before the price row

The current plan records selected on this page collectively name NTT Docomo, KDDI au, SoftBank, and Rakuten Mobile in Japan. That is useful purchasing context, but the evidence is plan-specific: some providers disclose one or more local networks, while others leave the network field undisclosed in the source we verified.

Do not transfer a network claim from one provider to another, or from one plan to a provider's full catalog. The evidence table shows only the network names attached to the exact plan card in this comparison. Where the record is blank, we say so. Before a rural itinerary, long rail route, or extended stay, open the official source and confirm that the current plan still names a network that suits your route.

The 4G or 5G labels in a provider record describe published network availability, not a speed guarantee. Actual attachment and performance can depend on location, congestion, handset bands, roaming configuration, and the provider's own policy. We do not turn those labels into a coverage score until comparable field evidence exists.

Evidence for the exact plans shown above
Provider and planNamed local networkHotspotActivationSource and dateField test
SimOptionsJapan 5 GB - 7 daysNTT Docomo (4G/5G)
SoftBank (4G/5G)
Allowed in current recordStarts on first network connectionOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
GigSkyJapan 10 GB - 30 daysNot disclosed in current sourceNot disclosed in current recordStarts on first network connectionOfficial plan API Checked Sep 7, 2026Not personally tested
RoamlessJapan 10 GB - 30 daysKDDI au (3G/4G/5G)
SoftBank (3G/4G/5G)
Allowed in current recordStarts on first network connectionOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
NomadJapan 10 GB - 30 daysKDDI au (4G/5G)
SoftBank (4G/5G)
Not disclosed in current recordStarts on first network connectionActivate within 60 days of purchaseOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
SailyJapan 10 GB - 30 daysNot disclosed in current sourceNot disclosed in current recordStarts on first network connectionActivate within 180 days of purchaseOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
aloSIMJapan 10 GB - 30 daysKDDI au (4G/5G)Not disclosed in current recordStarts on first network connectionOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
YesimJapan 10 GB - 30 daysNot disclosed in current sourceAllowed in current recordStarts on first network connectionActivate within 90 days of purchaseOfficial provider page Checked Sep 4, 2026Not personally tested
Maya Mobile7 Days Unlimited Global DataKDDI au (5G)
Rakuten Mobile (5G)
NTT Docomo (4G)
Allowed in current recordProvider-defined triggerApproved partner feed Checked Sep 7, 2026Not personally tested

Catalog prices are shown on the plan cards. This ledger does not certify a checkout total, tax treatment, speed, or coverage at a specific address.

Choose by travel pattern

Three useful ways to narrow the list

These are filter starting points, not paid placements or performance winners. Open the matching search, compare the returned plan facts, and confirm the final order details on the provider site.

01

Short city trip

For roughly one week in Tokyo, Kyoto, or Osaka, start around 5 GB if your main uses are navigation, messaging, translation, reservations, and occasional social uploads. Select a validity window that includes both travel days; buying far more data does not help if the plan expires before departure.

Compare 7-day options
02

Longer stay or heavier use

For two to four weeks, frequent video, or remote work, compare at least 10 GB and inspect whether the high-speed allowance is fixed. Treat unlimited plans separately: read the linked fair-use policy and do not infer an unlisted throttled speed. Keep a margin for operating-system updates and cloud photo uploads.

Compare longer-stay options
03

Laptop or shared connection

If tethering is essential, require a confirmed hotspot rule in the search. A plan marked Not verified is not treated as hotspot-capable, even if the provider may allow it elsewhere. After choosing, check for a separate tethering cap or fair-use rule because an allowed status alone does not prove unlimited hotspot data.

Show confirmed hotspot options

Setup without wasting validity

Install first, activate by the plan's rule

The selected records do not all use the same activation wording. Most currently say the validity starts on first network connection; one uses a provider-defined trigger. Follow the rule shown for the exact plan rather than applying one provider's instructions to another.

1

Check the phone

Confirm that the handset supports eSIM and is carrier-unlocked. Keep the primary SIM available if you need its number for account verification.

2

Save the installation details

Use stable Wi-Fi to save the QR code, app instructions, or manual activation values. Do not delete an installed eSIM unless the provider confirms it can be reissued.

3

Name the travel line

Label the new line Japan, keep it off until the provider permits activation, and choose it for mobile data when the trip begins.

4

Connect and verify

At arrival, follow the provider's roaming and APN instructions, confirm that the expected line has data, then test maps and messaging before leaving reliable Wi-Fi.

Hotspot, speed, and final price

Unknown stays unknown

The evidence table marks hotspot as Allowed only when the selected plan record says so. An unknown value is not a negative review and is not permission to tether; it means the current evidence is incomplete. The same rule applies to throttling. Fixed-data plans show their published high-speed allowance, while an unlimited plan must have a citable fair-use policy before it can be published. We do not invent a reduced speed when the source does not provide one.

The price on a card is a source-checked catalog value in the displayed currency. Because tax inclusion is not confirmed for the selected records and no independent checkout capture is attached, compare the final amount, currency, tax, discount conditions, and refund terms in the provider checkout before purchase. If the provider page no longer matches this page, do not rely on the cached value; report the discrepancy so the affected batch can be reviewed.

No Japan speed ranking appears here because there is no comparable firsthand test set. A useful future test must record device, location, time, attached network, radio generation, signal conditions, download, upload, latency, hotspot behavior, and any visible throttling in the same session. Until then, published network names remain provider evidence rather than an editorial performance score.

Japan eSIM questions

Check these before you buy

Will a Japan eSIM work on my phone?

It should only be purchased after you confirm that the exact handset supports eSIM and is carrier-unlocked. Regional model variants can differ, so use the device checker and verify the model in your phone settings rather than relying on the marketing name alone.

Can I use hotspot or tethering?

Only treat hotspot as confirmed when the exact plan row says Allowed. Several current Japan records remain Not verified. Even when allowed, check the provider source for a separate tethering allowance, fair-use rule, or speed restriction before relying on it for work.

Do these plans include calls or SMS?

The comparison is built around travel data records and does not promise a Japanese phone number, voice minutes, or SMS unless those fields are explicitly published. Plan to use data-based calling and messaging apps, and keep another line available when conventional calls or verification texts are essential.

When does the validity period start?

Most selections currently record first network connection as the trigger, but not every provider uses that rule. Read the activation row and installation window for the exact plan, then confirm the provider instructions before installing or switching the line on.

Is the displayed price the final checkout total?

No. It is the latest verified catalog value in our plan record. This Japan pilot does not yet include independent checkout screenshots, so tax, fees, currency conversion, and temporary discounts must be confirmed in the provider checkout.